Monday, June 23, 2008

Attempt By Opposition To Reject BN Motion Fails - Bernama

KUALA LUMPUR, June 23 (Bernama) -- The opposition's attempt to reject the motion on the increase in the prices of petroleum and other goods tabled by the government in the Dewan Rakyat met with failure when the block voting showed that 129 members voted for the government compared to 78 who voted against it.

It was the second time that the opposition pact had opted for block voting after the first one to pass the motion on the Supply Bill 2008 (2007), which also favoured the government 92-60 on May 28.

Dewan Rakyat Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia accepted the protest made by Mohamed Azmin Ali (PKR-Gombak) under article 46 (4) of the Standing Order when 15 or more members stood up to protest on the decision of the House previously which voted according to a voice vote.

The sitting earlier which was chaired by Deputy Speaker Datuk Ronald Kiandee had decided that the motion was passed based on a majority voice but this was opposed by M. Kulasegaran (DAP-Ipoh Barat).

The motion was tabled by Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad.

Ministers who were absent were Foreign Minister Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim (BN-Jelebu), Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi (BN-Bagan Datoh) and Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Zulhasnan Rafique (BN-Setiawangsa).

[More at]

Barisan MPs on alert to fight possible no-confidence motion - The Star

KUALA LUMPUR: All eyes will be on the new meeting of the Dewan Rakyat which starts today as many are waiting to see if a no-confidence vote against the Prime Minister materialises.

Although the Dewan Rakyat Speaker’s office has said that no specific no-confidence motion has been filed, any motion or Bill which comes up for voting can be turned into a test of confidence of the Prime Minister and the Government.

The first motion to come up will be that on price increases of oil and other goods as well as the measures to tackle them, which will be tabled by Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shahrir Samad immediately after Question Time today.

SAPP, a Barisan Nasional component party, caused a storm last week when the party said it had lost confidence in the leadership of Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi as Prime Minister.

SAPP president Datuk Yong Teck Lee said its two MPs (Tawau's Datuk Dr Chua Soon Bui and Sepanggar's Datuk Eric Enjin Machimbun) would introduce or support a vote on no-confidence against the Prime Minister.

Barisan secretary-general Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor said coalition MPs would be on full alert for the possibility of the Opposition trying to sneak in a no-confidence vote during the debate on issues such as the motion on price increases.

[More at]